Summer Institute Reflections

I had a few questions that I found answers to at the Summer Institute.  I had to find them and copy them to this post so that I can share the answers that I found.  I posted my questions again just as a reminder. 

  • Green Screen Questions: 1- How would I be able to create my own green screen? 2- Is a green screen difficult to use? 3- Do I have to use an iPad or can I use a tablet?

I found that I can create my own green screen with a trip to the fabric store.  Bright green fabric can be purchased at a more reasonable price if I use the opportunity of a sale, a coupon, and a teacher’s discount card.  Green screens are not difficult to use.  They require an app to a tablet, iPad, or even a smart phone.  Most of the apps are free, and do not require purchase.  If any money is spent it is very minimal but does not have to be.  Pictures of landscapes and backgrounds can be downloaded for free from a creative commons picture site. I tried out the green screen with one of my classmates, and assistance from Mrs. Perry.  We had quite a bit of fun with it!

  • Google Expedition: 1- Is it difficult to use Google Expeditions in the school library as a maker-space? 2- What devices are used inside of the goggles? Does it have to be a cell phone? 3- Is it difficult to have students use their own device for Google Expedition?

It is not difficult to use Google Expeditions in the library, but it was suggested to be used as a class and not specifically a makerspace, because students require guidance as they use this technology.  When I tried out Google Expeditions at the Summer institute, I downloaded the Cardboard App to my iPhone.  I learned that it is not necessary to have a cell phone, it would just cost a lot more money to purchase a kit of viewers where cell phones are not required. While it would be more cost effective for students to use their smart phone devices, I think it might be difficult to request that students use their own device inside the goggles because not all students own their own smart phone. 

  • Makey-makey: 1- Are there limits to the types of items that the makey-makey can interact with? 2- How does the makey-makey kit interact with a cell phone?  3- Is there an app that needs to be downloaded in order to use makey-makey?

There really are not limits to the types of items that makey-makey can interact with.  The makey-makey kit turns everyday objects into touchpads, at the summer institute I saw cups of water used as touchpads!  At the institute, the makey-makey was set up to operate with a MacBook.  I was told that there are many different apps that can be downloaded to use and create sounds with the makey-makey kit.

I really enjoyed the ODU School Library Science Summer Institute.  It was time well spent.  The idea to have the School Library Science students from many different locations spend time in a common physical learning space is phenomenal.  From the Summer institute I had a few take-aways.

My first take-away is: the school librarian will be lead the school in mobile learning.  There are many school districts that are considering the 1:1 model,  yet there are many hesitant and not financially capable of doing so.  With the increased access to technology Dr. Crompton discussed how educators need more training with mobile devices and the school librarian is the plug metaphorically speaking.  I know that as a school librarian I must work diligently to ensure that I plug students, teachers, and parents in the school to transform learning with different technologies. My second take-away be a change maker.  Those words speak for themselves.  My third take-away is to always seek new ideas and diverse perspectives so that I will be able to bring the best ideas and services to my library program (once I am employed).

For the upcoming school year I plan to genrefy my classroom collection as suggested by Rachel Grover in her presentation on genrefication.  Yesterday I went to Target and purchased eight brightly colored bins to help organize my books by genre.  I plan to use Grover’s suggestions to help guide me in the process.  I can’t wait for how it turns out,  stay tuned!

 

References

Grover, R. (2017, June). Notes from the field genrefication faq. School Library Connection.

Taylor, N.G., Subramaniam, M. and Waugh, A. (2015, February 26). The school librarian as a learning alchemist: Transforming the future of education. American Libraries Magazine. Retrieved from https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/2015/02/26/the-school-librarian-as-learning-alchemist/.

One Comment Add yours

  1. kimberly carusi says:

    I also loved that we can make our own green screen with a trip to the fabric store!!! Genius! It was great meeting you at SI! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

